Singapore – Tau Sar Piah

Two weeks away in Singapore and Kuala Lumpur and it’s time to catch up on some of my outings and experiences…firstly with a weekend in Singapore on the 13th and 14th August that saw me have a great Friday night out with Carl Ward a friend whom I have not seen for several years…we had Indian at Maharajah Restaurant at Cuppage Terace.

However the highlight was the Saturday where I spent the day on two long walks to not just take in Singapore but to take in two foodie treats…Tau Sar Piah and Ang Ku Kueh.

Tau Sar Piah is a traditional Hokkien Snack that is literally translated as “bean paste pastry”. I walked almost an hour to Loong Fatt – 639 Balestier Road – to get what has to be the best Tau Sar Piah in Singapore.

20160813C 07 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

20160813C 28 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt20160813C 05 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

The queue was long and out the door and I was told it is like this from 7am to 4pm (when they close the doors) for the 6 days a week they are open (closed Sundays).

I was lucky as when they saw the white guy tourist they came up to me and took me out the back to meet the Mama-San…which was lucky as I was there an hour and when I left the people that were behind me were only just getting to the front of the queue.

The mama-san was a lovely lady whom has been working at Loong Fatt for 44 years…she was the one who came up with the recipe for the owner and she now sits at the end of the main bench supervising it all and doing the important job of flipping each Tau Sar Piah as it comes out of the oven to ensure all is OK.

20160813C 14 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

Her sister does all the packing as the lines of people walk away with several boxes each…generally the average person will buy a tray hot out of the oven hence the long time in the queue for most.

20160813C 18 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

The process of making Tau Sar Piah is simple and as you would expect in a traditional business like this…very manual…but this is why it tasted so good.  I managed to take some video of the team preparing the dough and then putting the filling into and forming the cakes.

 

 

 

20160813C 09 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt20160813C 12 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

20160813C 17 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt20160813C 11 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

20160813C 13 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt20160813C 20 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

The finished product was superb in both its sweet and slated variety…I felt so guilty with all the time I spent with them that I purchased a whole box…I did fell a bit sick afterwards eating soooo much.

20160813C 23 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt20160813C 24 Tau Sar Piah - Loong Fatt

This entry was posted in Food, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

