AFWL Opening Game

The Adelaide Crows taking out the inaugural AFWL Grand Final today reminded me that I had not blogged about being able to attend the season opener and very first AFWL game with Carlton defeating Collingwood 7.4.46 to 1.5.11

20170203I7 17 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood

Not only was it great to be watching this with Em (Moo was in India) to see her inspired by women’s sport but it was just fantastic to see a fully packed Princess Park (over 24,000 in attendance) and the gates having to be shut with people not being able to get in.

20170203I7 03 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood20170203I7 24 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood

People were standing in the isles and on the stairs it was so packed and they were not disappointed because it was like watching a classic game of old.  It was tough footy with strong tackles and the girls really getting into the action.

20170203I7 14 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood20170203I7 15 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood

20170203I7 28 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood20170203I7 13 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood

It was great to be a part of history and to see the Carlton girls win the first ever AFWL game.  Was extra special to see this at a fully packed Princess Park.

20170203I7 08 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood20170203I7 11 AFWL First Game Carlton v Collingwood

It was a short first season with each team playing each other only once and then the top two into the Grand Final.  Carlton did OK coming 4th out of 8 teams but in the end it was just great to see AFWL start and proud that Carlton fielded a team.

This entry was posted in Australia, Sport and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

