Wallace & Gromit and Friends Exhibition – ACMI, Melbourne

The current Wallace & Gromit and Friends: The Magic of Aardman exhibition at the Australian Centre for Moving Image (ACMI) is a fun few hours as you escape into this bizarre world of animation. 

Kerrie and I total enjoyed ourselves yesterday seeing how some of these characters that we new so well came to life and also making our own little clay animation – a take on the Day of the Triffids as my cure little man was eaten by Kerrie’s evil plant!!!

 

The clay characters were larger than what we expected and we guess they needed to be larger to be able to mould the various expressions and movements. It was fascinating to see how such simple characters could represent such expressions.

20170729I7 07 Shaun the Sheep - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI20170729I7 05 Creature Comforts - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI

20170729I7 12 Morph - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI20170729I7 14 Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI20170729I7 19 Chicken Run - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI

The sets were elaborate and the detail within them showed the amount of time that goes into make such animated films.  It was also fascinating to see the scene sketches and notes made on these that highlight the thinking process and the attention to detail applied.

20170729I7 17 Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI20170729I7 18 Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI

20170729I7 01 The Captains Cabin - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI20170729I7 03 Stereoscopic House - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI

It is worth the visit and a fun few hours especially as these characters are so familiar to us all.

20170729I7 28 Kerrie - Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI20170729I7 10 Wallace and Gromit Exhibtion - ACMI

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Melbourne and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wallace & Gromit and Friends Exhibition – ACMI, Melbourne

  1. tivamoo says:

    I know!! I went to the exhibition last Sat and it was really impressive (and also wrote a blog/ video on it)… the only shame is that they only allowed 5 mins in the last clay/ movie creation bit, so my work was done in a rush. Would be better if they have told the visitors earlier so that we have more time to prepare for it!

Leave a Reply

